EMBASSY is a non-profit making artist-run gallery founded in 2004. The gallery holds a yearly programme of exhibitions and events and exhibits at off site projects. Each year we also co-ordinate the Annuale festival; a presentation of grassroots artistic activity in various venues throughout the city.

The gallery co-ordinates and presents a professional development programme for students at Edinburgh College of Art in return for some funding towards the gallery’s core costs.

EMBASSY has also received funding from the Scottish Arts Council, ECA Trustees and the Young Scot Award.

EMBASSY has a rolling committee of 5 to 7 members who work on a voluntary basis and are supported by a members base. The committee are responsible for all aspects of the gallery and serve as directors for a 2 year period.

Current Committee

Jake  Watts

Fintan Ryan

Joe Harvey

Suzanne van der Lingen

Jordan Pilling

Joanna Baxter Wilson


The originating committee comprised of Kim Coleman, Craig Coulthard, Tommy Grace, Jenny Hogarth, Dave Maclean, Kate Owens and Catherine Stafford. They were replaced entirely by John Farrugia, Deborah Jackson, Katie Orton, Debjani Banerjee, and Dan Brown.

After this the EMBASSY committee became less defined and since 2007 has included Angela Beck, Luke Cooke-Yarborough, Joe Etchell, Benjamin Fallon, Martine Foltier-Pugh, Alexa Hare, John A. Harrington, Shona Handley, Kirsty Hendry, Oliver Herbert, Norman James Hogg, Tessa Lynch, Ciara McDermott, Shona Macnaughton, Laurie Macpherson, Francesca Nobilucci, James Thomas Philips, Ashleigh Reid, Jenny Richards, Sally Sears-Black, Dane Sutherland and Daniella Watson, with directors working from 2 Months to 2 years.

highslide wordpress